The Médio Tejo sub-region is located in the centre of Portugal and comprises the north of the Santarém district and the southwest of the Castelo Branco district. It includes thirteen municipalities: Abrantes, Alcanena, Constância, Entroncamento, Ferreira do Zêzere, Mação, Ourém, Sardoal, Sertã, Tomar, Torres Novas, Vila de Rei and Vila Nova da Barquinha.

The sublime landscape, comprised mainly of forests and agricultural fields, is enriched by the five rivers which flow through the territory. The rivers Tejo (Tagus), Zêzere, Nabão, Almonda and Alviela are also accompanied by various streams, waterfalls, reservoirs and river beaches, which are ready to welcome and enchant you during the warmest days.  

The region’s cultural, historical and architectural heritage is vast and extremely relevant. Take part in a time travel and discover dinosaur footprints, and remains from the rock art period and the Roman Empire. Stroll along the walls of the Abrantes, Tomar, Ourém, Almourol, Sertã and Torres Novas castles. Appreciate the wide diversity of the architectural styles of the Convent of Christ, a UNESCO’s World Heritage Site, and unveil the secrets of the historic centres.

In Médio Tejo there is no shortage of spaces of faith and religious celebration. The Sanctuary of Fátima receives every year millions of pilgrims and tourists from all over the world. The churches, chapels and convents in the region keep a relevant artistic heritage and the Synagogue of Tomar is the only Hebraic temple from the Proto-Renaissance in Portugal.

The Médio Tejo region has a total area of 3,344 km2. The area of the municipalities’ territory varies between the 13.72 km2 of Entroncamento and the 714.69 km2 of Abrantes. In relation with the other municipalities, Sertã (with about 450 km2), and both Ourém and Mação (with close to 400 km2) have the second and third largest areas respectively. On the other hand, Vila Nova da Barquinha (50 km2), Constância and Sardoal (both with close to 100 km2) are part of the group of the smallest municipalities in the region. 

The thirteen municipalities of Médio Tejo have in total 247,330 inhabitants. Ourém (45,932), Tomar (40,674) and Abrantes (39,325) are the municipalities with the highest number of residents. Half of the population of the region lives in these three municipalities. The municipalities with the highest population density are Entroncamento (1471.8 per km2), Vila Nova da Barquinha (147 per km2) and Torres Novas (136 per km2).     



To stroll through the territory of Médio Tejo is like wandering through history, from the prehistoric times to the present-day. Find rock art engravings and drawings from the Palaeolithic to the Neolithic in Ferreira do Zêzere, Mação and Sertã. At the São Miguel de Amêndoa Hill Fort walk through a fortified settlement from the Iron Age, while enjoying the beauty of the mountains. 

The Romans fell in love with the territory too, because of its excellent climate and the abundance of water. Remains from the Roman presence can be visited, for example, in the municipalities of Tomar, Torres Novas and Sertã. At Villa Cardillio, inhabited by the romans from the 1st until the 4th century AD, bases of columns and pavements adorned with colourful mosaics have lasted through the ages. Stroll along the roman roads while unveiling the landscapes of the municipality of Sertã.

During the Christian “Reconquista”, in the 12th century, three castles in the region were part of the Templar’s defensive line of the River Tagus. The castles of Abrantes, Almourol and Tomar were used to control attacks by the Moors and today are part of the history and mysticism that surrounds the Templar knights. On the other hand, the municipality of Alcanena keeps the Arab legacy not only in the name, but also in the tanning of animal skins.

The Convent of Christ in Tomar is an ode to the history of Portuguese architecture. As witnessed by the examples of the Romanesque, Gothic, Manueline, Renaissance, Mannerist and Baroque styles, it was built over seven centuries.

The French Invasions led by Junot and Massena raged, during the beginning of the 19th century, through the territory which constitutes the Médio Tejo sub-region. The conflict left behind the liberalism ideology which later influenced the conflict between D. Pedro and D. Miguel.

As of 1850, Fontes Pereira de Melo, who sponsored the policies of development of means of transport and routes, launched the building of the country’s railways, which were in the inception of the municipality of Entroncamento. 

Throughout the years, the various municipalities collected traditions and popular festivities that will liven up your visit to the region. Medieval fairs, religious processions, festivals and traditional parades are extra motivations to visit the Médio Tejo region and to be dazzled by its ancient history. 


  • Abrantes - River Tagus
  • Alcanena - Olhos de Água
  • Constância - Monument to Camões
  • Entroncamento - National Railway Museum
  • Ferreira do Zêzere - Dornes
  • Mação - Prehistoric Art and the Sacred in the Tagus Valley Museum
  • Ourém - Castle
  • Sardoal - Boards by the Sardoal Master
  • Sertã - Cabril Valley
  • Tomar - Convent of Christ
  • Torres Novas - Villa Cardillio
  • Vila Nova da Barquinha - Almourol Castle
  • Vila de Rei - Geodesic Centre

Simple Image Gallery Extended